News Flash Home
The original item was published from 7/15/2020 5:54:00 PM to 5/13/2021 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) News and Updates

Posted on: May 12, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Mayor Schewel and Commissioner Jacobs Announce Members of Durham Recovery and Renewal Task Force

Tuesday, May 12: The Durham Recovery and Renewal Task Force (RRTF) will advise the Mayor and Commissioner as they revise their emergency declarations, and determine how to safely, gradually and successfully re-open the community.

Task Force set to hold first meeting on Friday, May 15th

Mayor Steve Schewel and Commissioner Wendy Jacobs announced members of the Durham Recovery and Renewal Task Force (RRTF) that they have appointed to advise them as they revise their emergency declarations, and to advise the community on how to safely, gradually and successfully re-open.

The Durham RRTF will have a 100-day period of service. “The task force will not be expected to produce any final report or other particular written product,” said Schewel. “Rather, it will be expected to move at speed and issue its advice and recommendations in real time.”

The Task Force meetings will be public meetings, and the first one is scheduled for this Friday, May 15th from 10:00am – noon. Those interested in listening in can visit the City’s website for more details.  Future meeting dates will be set at the first meeting.

The Task Force has 15 members and comprises public health experts, business leaders, community and faith leaders, and a representative from the County’s Emergency Operations Center. The Task Force membership, said Jacobs, “reflects our commitment to be guided by our scientific community and public health experts, and to work cooperatively with local health systems, local governments, and local and community leadership to ensure a well-coordinated response.”

“We are thrilled to have assembled such an outstanding, diverse, and respected group of local leaders to advise us and our community,” said Schewel.  

The full list of task force members and affiliations is included below:

  • Katie Galbraith, Task Force Co-Chair, President, Duke Regional Hospital
  • Maticia Sims, Task Force Co-Chair, Vice President and Corporate Controller, Blue Cross Blue Shield of NC
  • Ibukun Akinboyo, M.D., Assistant Professor, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, Duke Health
  • Susan Amey, CEO, Discover Durham
  • Ed Boyd, Chief Strategy Office, iNvictus
  • Dr. Herbert Reynolds Davis, Senior Pastor, Nehemiah Church
  • Lois DeLoatch, Philanthropy Director, Center for Responsible Lending
  • Geoff Durham, Durham Chamber of Commerce
  • George Habel, Vice President, Capitol Broadcasting Company
  • Philip Harewood, CEO, Lincoln Community Health Center
  • Rodney Jenkins, Health Director, Durham County Department of Public Health
  • Jodi Miller, Deputy County Manager, Durham County Government, representing the Emergency Operations Center
  • Pilar Rocha-Goldberg, President and CEO, El Centro Hispano
  • Anthony Nelson, Dean, North Carolina Central University School of Business
  • Nicole Thompson, CEO, Downtown Durham Inc.

Facebook Twitter Email