Special Events

Bimbe Durham Parks and Recreation (DPR) provides a wide variety of special events that allow families to experience safe, exciting, and organized recreational activities in a beautiful setting, recreation center or other locations throughout Durham. Most of these events / activities have a minimal cost or are free.

Take a moment to review DPR’s upcoming special events and discover ways that you, your family and friends can create memories in a positive atmosphere.

Volunteer


Are you interested in volunteering for a special event? Visit our special event registration page through Ivolunteer.

Event Cancellation Information


Events may be canceled in the case of severe inclement weather.
  • Call the weather line at 919-560-4636 and press #8 for the status of the event.
  • Visit Facebook and / or Twitter.
2016 EVENTS CALENDAR
Kwanzaa Celebration
Friday, December 30

2017 EVENTS CALENDAR
Durham Senior Games Monday, April 17-Thursday, May 4
Earth Day
Sunday, April 23
Canine Field Day Saturday, May 6
Bimbé Cultural Arts Festival
Saturday, May 20
Rock the Park Concert & Movie Series Saturday, June 10 - Saturday, August 19
Independence Day Celebration
Tuesday, July 4
Durham Latino Fiesta & Soccer Challenge Saturday, September 23
DisAble the Label Saturday, October 14
Barktoberfest Sunday, October 29
Holiday Fun Fest
Saturday December 2
Santa Paws Friday, December 8
Holiday Parade Saturday, December 9
Senior Holiday Party Tuesday, December 12
Kwanzaa Celebration
Saturday, December 30

Event / Program Evaluation


If you have recently attended a DPR event or program please complete our Event Evaluation Survey.