Community Safety & Wellness Task Force

City of Durham logo
Durham County logo
Durham Public Schools logo

In 2021, the Durham Community Safety & Wellness Task Force was formed by the governing bodies of the City of Durham, Durham County, and Durham Public Schools Board of Education with a mission to recommend programs to enhance public safety and wellness that rely on community-based prevention, intervention, and re-entry services as alternatives to policing and the criminal legal system.

Contact Task Force Co-Chairs & Staff Liaison:

  1. Task Force Members
  2. Bylaws
  3. Upcoming Meetings & Join Information
  4. Meeting Agendas & Briefing Materials
  5. Meeting Minutes
  6. Watch Past Meetings & Events
  7. Presentations & Resources
  8. Quarterly reports
  9. Roundtables
  10. Roundtable Events
  11. Frequently Asked Questions

Task Force Members

All membership terms to expire on December 21, 2022

  • Xavier Cason, Co-chair
  • Marcia Owen, Co-chair
  • Jesse Huddleston, City of Durham Appointee
  • Isaac Villegas, City of Durham Appointee
  • Shanise Hamilton, City of Durham Appointee
  • Jennifer Carroll, City of Durham Appointee
  • Tyler Whittenberg, Durham County Appointee
  • Mike Sistrom, Durham County Appointee
  • Jatoia Potts, Durham County Appointee
  • Manju Rajendran, Durham County Appointee 
  • Andrea Hudson, Durham County Appointee
  • Samuel Scarborough, Durham Public Schools Appointee 
  • Nori McDuffie-Williams, Durham Public Schools Appointee 
  • Dr. Wanda Boone, Durham Public Schools Appointee 
  • Alec Greenwald, Durham Public Schools Appointee