Bicycle & Pedestrian Advisory Commission (BPAC)


  • 7 p.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday of each month
  • City Hall
    101 City Hall Plaza
    Committee Room, 2nd Floor
    Durham, NC 27701


The following members are appointed by the City Council:

  • Chassem Anderson, NCCU Liaison
  • Esteban Bartiri, Bicycle Commuting Representative
  • Emily Egge, Recreation / Recreation Business Representative
  • DeAnna Hall, University Student / University Facilities Representative
  • Andrew Jacobson, Urban Trails and Greenways
  • Julia Katz, Transportation Planning Policy

For County Commissioner appointments, contact the Clerk to the Board of County Commissioners at 919-560-0025 or visit the website.


About the Commission

The Durham Bicycle and Pedestrian Commission provides advice to the City Council and the Board of County Commissioners on questions relating to bicycle and pedestrian issues.

The commission consists of 17 members with 7 members appointed by the City Council representing the following constituencies which have an interest and expertise in:
  • Bicycle commuting
  • Inter-Neighborhood Council
  • North Carolina Central University liaison
  • Recreation / Recreation business
  • Transportation planning/policy
  • University students / University facilities
  • Urban trails and greenways


  • Applicants must reside within the corporate city limits.
  • City and County taxes must not reflect any delinquency at the time of submission of the application.
  • Property tax listing must be current.
Applications may be obtained from the City Clerk's Office on the 2nd floor of City Hall, from 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday.

More Information