Sign In
Skip to main content

City Council

The City Council is the legislative and policy-making body for the City of Durham. Comprised of seven members, three members are elected from specific wards, three are at-large members and the Mayor. The terms for City Council seats are staggered, and nonpartisan elections are held every two years.

Our Vision
Durham is the leading city in providing an excellent and sustainable quality of life.

Our Mission
To provide quality services to make Durham a great place to live, work and play.

Our Goals  
•  Strong and Diverse Economy
•  Safe and Secure Community
•  Thriving, Livable Neighborhoods
•  Well-Managed City
•  Stewardship of City’s Physical Assets

Email the entire City Council, including the Mayor at, or mail City Council members, Office of the City Council, 101 City Hall Plaza, Durham, N.C. 27701.

Council Meetings

Work Sessions
The City Council holds a work session two Thursdays preceding its regular business meeting to receive information briefings and presentations. The work session is held at 1 p.m. in the Council’s Committee Room, 2nd floor City Hall. At its work session, City Council discusses departmental items on its agenda and asks questions of City staff relating to agenda items. In addition, citizens may address City Council to express a matter of interest or a concern.

Regular Business Meetings
City Council convenes its regular business meeting every first and third Monday at 7 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall, 101 City Hall Plaza. Meetings are open to the public and may be viewed live on DTV8​, Time Warner Cable.

Public Hearings
City Council holds public hearings to give citizens an opportunity to comment on current issues involving the City. All public hearings are advertised and placed on the Council’s agenda for resident remarks. To make comments at a public hearing, residents can sign up in advance of the meeting by contacting the City Clerk’s office at (919) 560-4166 or during the Council meeting by completing a “Speakers’ List” card located at the City Clerk’s desk in Council Chambers prior to the start of the meeting.