Sign In
Skip to main content

Public Art

Return to OEWD Home

The Public Art Committee advises the Cultural Advisory Board and acts on behalf of the board on matters relating to public art. The committee functions are to: (a) assist the City’s Office of Economic and Workforce Development and to advise the City regarding the implementation of the Public Art Policy approved by the City Council on November 21, 2011 and (b) to review proposals for public art projects brought to it by the City administration and make recommendations to the Cultural Advisory Board with regard to project approvals. 

The committee meets on the 4th Tuesday of each month at 8 a.m. at the Durham Arts Council, 120 Morris St. in downtown Durham. Members serve without compensation and must reside or work within the City of Durham and actively contribute to the cultural and economic sectors.

Durham Cultural Advisory Board Public Art Committee Members

​  Chris Ogden, Chair
​  Margaret DeMott
​  Kathy S. Bartlett
​  Dan Ellison
  Charlene Reiss 
  ​Julie Rhodes
​  Karen Slotta
​  Gail Williams
​   Noel James
Meeting Minutes
To view minutes from committee meetings visit the board and committee minutes page.

Committee Vacancies and Application
Questions about the Public Art Committee can be directed to:
Peter Coyle at (919) 560-4965, ext. 15205

Applications for membership on the committee are being accepted. The application deadline is February 13, 2015 at 5 p.m.

Public Art Committee Application:  Word     PDF