Special Events

Bimbe Durham Parks and Recreation (DPR) provides a wide variety of special events that allow families to experience safe, exciting, and organized recreational activities in a beautiful setting, recreation center or other locations throughout Durham. Most of these events / activities have a minimal cost or are free.

Take a moment to review DPR’s upcoming special events and discover ways that you, your family and friends can create memories in a positive atmosphere.

Volunteer


Are you interested in volunteering for a special event? Visit our special event registration page through Ivolunteer.

Event Cancellation Information


Events may be canceled in the case of severe inclement weather.
  • Call the weather line at 919-560-4636 and press #8 for the status of the event.
  • Visit Facebook and / or Twitter.
2016 EVENTS CALENDAR
Holiday Fun Fest
Saturday, December 3
Santa Paws Friday, December 9
Holiday Parade Saturday, December 10
Senior Holiday Party Tuesday, December 13
Kwanzaa Celebration
Friday, December 30

2017 EVENTS CALENDAR
Earth Day
Sunday, April 23
Bimbé Cultural Arts Festival
Saturday, May 20
Durham Latino Fiesta & Soccer Challenge
Saturday, September 23
Rock the Park Concert & Movie Series Saturday, June 10 - Saturday, August 19
Independence Day Celebration
Tuesday, July 4
Holiday Fun Fest
Saturday December 2
Santa Paws Friday, December 8
Holiday Parade Saturday, December 9
Senior Holiday Party Tuesday, December 12
Kwanzaa Celebration
Saturday, December 30
Durham Senior Games
April 18 - May 5
Canine Field Day TBD
DisAble the Label
Saturday, October 14
Barktoberfest
TBD

Event / Program Evaluation


If you have recently attended a DPR event or program please complete our Event Evaluation Survey.